Red, Red Wiiiinnnneeee

Here’s a random blog post about one of my favorite pastimes:  drinking.  I’ve been trying to cut back lately <gasp!> but I thought it would be a nice trip down taste bud memory lane and share some drinks.  I’m no wine connoisseur and I’m not a seasoned wine taster, so take my comments with a grain of salt.  I just have a lonely liver looking for some alcoholic companionship haha.

So, I’m a sucker for red wines.  I used to be a white wine, Riesling kind of girl when I was younger (many many eons ago).  But, after some random red wine tests and finally a wine tasting party I really fell in love with red wines.  At first, I picked up a random bottle in a Korean grocery story (haha, I know).  We needed to bring some alcohol and so when we picked up the smorgasbord of sake, soju, and beer, I threw in a red bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon called Golden Kaan from Africa.  It was earthy, smoky, and delicious.  At the time, it was being sold for $12 or less.  Definitely check it out:  http://www.goldenkaan.com/about.html

First Love

First Love

Then, for the wine tasting party, I was in Total Wine and was looking for a bottle of wine to bring for the taste event.  I was told it had to be under $10 and something unknown.  Well, I randomly came upon this one wine which was hailed to be one of the best priced, up and coming wines at the time.  Concha y Toro Frontera’s Cabernet Sauvignon Merlot blend was heavenly.  Well, at least to me and my other friend.  Everyone at the wine tasting party despised it, but my friend and I really fell in love with its earthy, rich flavor.  And, at the time, it was for a bank busting $3.99 or so.  These days it’ll set you back about $8.  Check it out:   http://www.fronterawines.com/v2/nuestros-vinos/?lang=en

Second Love

Second Love

In general, I do recommend Total Wine.  You could get lost in there for days and they have wine tastings to help you out.  The staff has been friendly and helpful each time I’ve gone.   Feed your drinking habit, you know you want to: http://www.totalwine.com/

Now, onto the original reason why I wanted to write up this blog.  I was in Costco with the hubby trying to pick up a few quick items.  I had noticed that Costco has really been beefing up their wine sections.  In fact, on a separate trip to Costco, they were conducting wine tastings.  In any case, I started browsing the wine shelf quickly and found this really nice looking bottle of wine.  It’s called Apothic Red: http://www.apothic.com/wine.asp

Third Love? Just Maybe

Third Love? Just Maybe

It’s a blend of red Zinfandel (which I normally don’t care for), Cabernet Sauvignon (love it), and Merlot (love it).  So, this seemed liked a great combo and held so much promise.  It was surprisingly delicious.  It was spicy, a bit earthy, smoky, and with a smooth sweet finish.  And, it had an awesome looking cork haha.  My husband was also fascinated with it.

Cool Cork

Cool Cork

In any case, it was a great wine (at a cost of $7.99) to eat with chocolate, which I lovingly did.  I paired up a glass (or two or three) while munching on Dark Chocolate covered Pomegranates (another yummy snack from Costco!).

The Perfect Companion

The Perfect Companion

Happy Drinking, everyone! Moo Rating (1) v5a

Leave a Reply

