Nutella Dino Cookies

On a mundane Sunday afternoon, I decided I wanted to experiment in some baking.  I like to eat, but I can’t cook or bake to save myself.  But, lately, I’ve been having some real cravings for soft, chewy cookies.  I had a disappointing run-in with these Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cup Chips Ahoy cookies and wasn’t a fan.  It seems that the cookies have gotten smaller over the years (or I’ve just gotten huge) and the quality isn’t as great.  So, I had been meaning to make some cookies from scratch to satisfy my craving.  And, since I love all things Nutella, it seemed that adding Nutella into a cookie recipe would be a bonus.

On a random night where I was googling random Nutella recipes, I had come across a blog called “Sugar & Spice by Celeste” (http://sugarandspice-celeste.blogspot.com/2010/08/nutella-chocolate-chip-cookies.html). She has an awesome Nutella Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe that looked amazing. I mean, look at thiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiis:

And, while you’re visiting her site, I would also highly recommend checking out some of her other fantastic recipes.  She’s got a mouth-watering sugary temptation called Homemade Twix Bar.  Yeah, this lady is pretty cool.  So, check out her blog when you get a chance.

I finally decided to experiment and try out Celeste’s yummy Nutella cookie recipe.  And, lately, I’ve been on a dinosaur kick.  Everything dino decorated has tickled my fancy and upon rummaging around in Target, I found this cool dino sandwich cutter:

Dino Food Fun

Dino Food Fun

So, on this fine Sunday afternoon, I combined my two latest obsessions: Nutella and Dinosaurs!  I halved Celeste’s recipe and substituted a few items.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup butter (1/2 stick), at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
    • Moo Moo Note: The original recipe calls for vanilla extract but all I had was almond extract.  Plus, I figured the nutty flavor would complement the Nutella.
  • 1/8 cup Nutella
    • Moo Moo Note: I eyeballed this.  I love Nutella so I kinda just poured it in haha.
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips
    • Moo Moo Note: The original recipe calls for regular milk chocolate chips, but I love dark chocolate, so I substituted.
Cookie Party Pals

Cookie Party Pals

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and prep baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Full disclosure – I’m typically strict when it comes to combining ingredients slowly.  However, it being a lazy Sunday, I totally plopped all the ingredients in together:
    1. Combine Flour, Salt, Butter, Sugar, Brown Sugar, Eggs, and Almond Extract.
    2. Add Baking Soda.
    3. Go to Step 4.
  3. If you want to do it the proper way, here are the steps:
    1. In a large bowl whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt.
    2. Cream the butter, the sugar, and the brown sugar.
    3. Add the eggs and the vanilla (or almond extract) until combined.
    4. Gradually add the flour until the mixture is combined.
    5. Go to Step 4.
  4. Mix in Nutella.
  5. Add in the dark chocolate chips.
  6. Use mini ice cream scoop or spoons to drop onto baking sheets and bake for 9-11 minutes.
  7. For my oven, 10 minutes was the perfect amount of time.  At 5 minutes, I rotated the cookie pan.
All Mixed Up

All Mixed Up

So, how does this dino shape come in?  Well, I made the not-so-smart decision of trying to shape my cookies before baking them.  I kind of knew from what I had read in random sites that the only cookies you shape prior to baking are sugar cookies and not chocolate chip cookies.  But, I did say it was an experimental Sunday, so I tried it anyway. Needless to say, it was a FAIL, haha.

From Dino-mite to Dino-blob

From Dino-mite to Dino-blob

I should’ve stuck to the standard cookie scoop on the baking sheet:

Should’ve stuck to the plan

Should’ve stuck to the plan

Shape aside, the cookies were very delicious.  But it’s deliciousness was attributed to Celeste’s great recipe.  As I was looking at my Dino-blobs, I decided to try one more experiment.  With the cookies warm and quite soft, I used the sandwich cutter one more time.

(7) Dino gets some lipo

Dino gets some lipo

And, success! Look at the happy dino troupe:

(8) Dino Nummies

Dino Nummies

In order to recreate this, I’m guessing you can bake a sheet of the Nutella chocolate chips and then use a cookie cutter to cut out the shapes.

At the very least, I hope you enjoy the recipe courtesy of the Sugar & Spice blog.  The cookies are delicious!  And, if you’re adventurous, try making cookie shapes =) Enjoy!!!

When Dino and Nutella meet...

When Dino and Nutella meet…

...Choco Nutellasaurus is born! RAWR!

…Choco Nutellasaurus is born! RAWR!

4 thoughts on “Nutella Dino Cookies

    • LOL! Thanks! The dino sandwich cutter looked fun so I really wanted to use it. I’m gonna experiment with them again on another type of snack… Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

